A. Elizabeth Taylor Prize

The Southern Association for Women Historians invites submissions for the A. Elizabeth Taylor Prize, which is awarded annually for the best article published during the preceding year in the field of southern women’s history. Articles published in journals and anthologies between January 1, 2016, and December 31, 2016 are eligible. Entries must be written in English, but the competition is open to works published outside the U.S. Editors, authors, and other scholars are invited to nominate eligible articles for the prize.

The Taylor Prize carries a cash award of $500 and will be announced at the SAWH annual address in Dallas, Texas in November 2017.

To nominate an article for the Taylor Prize, please submit a copy to each of the following addresses, postmarked no later than May 30, 2017:

Janet Allured, Committee Chair
1015 Common St
Lake Charles, LA 70601

Antoinette Van Zelm
Center for Historic Preservation
Middle Tennessee State University
Box 80
Murfreesboro, TN 37132

Kelly Kennington
310 Thach Hall
Auburn University, AL 36849

To ask questions about the Taylor Prize, you may contact the SAWH executive secretary at sawh@georgiasouthern.edu.