Willie Lee Rose Prize

The Southern Association for Women Historians invites submissions for the Willie Lee Rose Prize, which is awarded annually for the best book on any topic in southern history written by a woman (or women). Only monographs with a copyright date of 2016 are eligible. Entries must be written in English, but the competition is open to works published outside the U.S.

The Rose Prize carries a cash award of $750 and will be announced at the SAWH annual address in Dallas, Texas in November 2017.

To nominate a book for the Rose Prize, mail a copy of the publication to each of the following addresses, postmarked no later than May 30, 2017:

Thavolia Glymph, Committee Chair
Department of History
Box 90719, 226 Carr Building
114 Campus Drive
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708

Catherine Kerrison
652 Kromer Avenue
Berwyn, PA   19312

Stacy Braukman
Wardlaw Center/Georgia Tech
177 North Avenue NW
Atlanta, GA 30332-0220

To ask questions about the Rose Prize, you may contact the SAWH executive secretary at sawh@georgiasouthern.edu.