Julia Cherry Spruill Prize

The Julia Cherry Spruill Prize is awarded annually for the best book in southern women’s history, broadly construed. Only monographs with a copyright date of 2023 are eligible for the award in 2024. Entries must be written in English, but the competition is open to works published outside the U.S., and presses may submit as many eligible books as they choose.

To nominate a book for the Spruill Prize, please mail a copy of the publication to each committee member, postmarked no later than May 31, 2024.

Felicity Turner, Chair
5501 Abercorn St., Suite D-170
Savannah, GA 31405-6911

Katie Hemphill
César E. Chávez Building, Room 415
1110 James E. Rogers Way
University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ 85721

Pippa Holloway

2510 Semmes Ave.
Richmond, VA 23225