Prizes and Fellowships

The Southern Association for Women Historians sponsors a number of annual publication prizes and one biennial fellowship. To be eligible, entries must be written in English, but competition is not restricted to works published in the U.S. Prizes are for works published between January 1 and December 31 of a given year.

Detailed submission guidelines and eligibility rules are located in the prize detail pages, linked below.

Julia Cherry Spruill PrizeThe Julia Cherry Spruill Prize is awarded for the best published book in southern women’s history. Only monographs are eligible.

Willie Lee Rose Prize:  The Willie Lee Rose Prize is awarded for the best book in southern history authored by a woman (or women). Only monographs are eligible.

A. Elizabeth Taylor PrizeThe A. Elizabeth Taylor Prize is awarded annually for the best article published during the preceding year in the field of southern women’s history. Editors, scholars, and authors are invited to nominate eligible articles for the prize.

Anne Firor Scott Mid-Career Fellowship: This fellowship is awarded every two years and provides assistance to scholars who are past the first stage of their careers and working on a second book or equivalent project in southern and/or gender history.

Jacquelyn Dowd Hall Prize: The Jacquelyn Dowd Hall Prize is awarded for the two best papers presented by graduate students at the triennial Southern Conference on Women’s History sponsored by the SAWH.  The prize is $200 to each recipient.